Deleting a photo removes it permanently from your device, and you can’t undo the action.
Important: If you save photos to iCloud Drive, deleting a photo from iCloud Drive removes it from iCloud and from all other devices and Mac computers that use the same Apple ID.
Touch and hold the photo thumbnail, lift your finger, then tap Delete.
To delete an image shared with you by someone else (so that it can no longer be recovered), tap Delete Now.
If you don’t see an image you want to delete, try searching for it, or tap Browse or Recents at the bottom of the screen.
After deleting a photo from the Files browser, you can still recover it from Recently Deleted.
If you don’t see the image you want to recover, try searching for it, or tap Browse or Recents at the bottom of the screen.
Note: When you delete an image that was shared with you, it’s deleted immediately from your device and can’t be recovered from Recently Deleted. If you later need to see the image again, tap the link you received in the original invitation or ask the owner to send another.