Makeup Retouch

Talk about Pixelmator Pro, share tips & tricks, tutorials, and other resources.

2020-04-09 10:35:08

Hello, I'm a makeup artist and I would like to learn how to create great editorial images from the pictures I take of my makeup. I'm following some youtube channels about it but every tutorial I found was about photoshop. Since I bought Pixelmator Pro, I'm trying to transpose the information I got to the app I have. One problem I can't solve is the photoshop Curves Layers, mainly to change curves in them, invert curves layers afterwards and reveal dodge and burn effects by painting on the level they're bond to. Is there an equivalent to Curves Layers in Pixelmator, either a different way to create a similar workflow? Thank you.

2020-04-09 12:25:09

Hi Sofia, there is a Curves adjustment in Pixelmator Pro and a Curves adjustment layer in Photoshop is basically the same thing, except applied to a specific layer and then every layer below it. Generally speaking, to get a similar result in Pixelmator Pro, you'd need to duplicate the original image, apply the curves adjustment to it, then apply a mask to the upper layer and mask out the areas you don't want to be affected. But I would guess that sounds quite confusing to someone just starting out with this...

So, do you happen to have a link to a tutorial you're using? I could take a look at it and do my best to adapt the techniques to Pixelmator Pro.

2020-04-09 13:17:50

Hi Andrius, thank you for your answer. You'd be so kind, thank you! I was looking to these tutorials in particular:
https://youtu.be/jGk-yb3bBkE
https://youtu.be/ulixFjdRvlM
https://youtu.be/lplBg2MEYpw

...and in the meantime thank you for your suggestion, I'll try it too.

2020-04-09 14:56:11

Oof, that's quite a lot of video! But, I did promise... So, how about I start with the lip tutorial, you try my steps out and let me know how it goes? :smiley: