Transform a scanned musical score image to (hard) black and white

Discuss and share Pixelmator Pro resources such as templates, mockups, and tutorials.

2022-10-17 14:43:33

Hi,

I guess there should a more or less standard solution for this, so as a newbie I do not want to reinvent the wheel: what is the best way to transform a (black and white) musical score scanned in color or grey scale to "real" (hard) black and white?

The sources I have are mostly color scans from scores printed black on a white background. Since many of them are mobile phone scans etc., the images have lots of grey scale shadows which I'd like to remove to recreate the original black on white image.

Sometimes there are color scans of oldish (and therefore over the years turned brownish) paper, printed in black. Ideally, I'd like to see a background in white with the printed text in black with the highest possible contrast.

I realize that Pixelmator has a black and white filter as well as ML Enhance which is already quite good but still is returns a grey scale image where I'd ideally like to have plain black and white, or at least as close as possible.

I suppose it should be necessary to set some kind of threshold for black and white for every type of scan / batch of images scanned under identical conditions, but other than that I'd hope to automatize this process with a basic preset which has to be tweaked only minimally for each usage case (I do have a longterm knowledge of (advanced) AppleScript, but neiter do I know about possible potentially complex batch processing features in Pixelmator, nor about Pixelmators scripting potential, at least not yet).

So my question has two parts:

(a) What is the ideal method of filtering?
(b) How can I save and reuse this filter?