Are all retouch tools destructive?

Is something not working like it should? Let us know.

2018-10-20 18:02:00

I'm new to Pro and trying to understand which tools are destructive and which are not. Perhaps this is listed somewhere and I've missed it.

I get that Color Adjustments and Effects are nondestructive, and I get that Repair and Clone are destructive but one can use a transparent overlay layer with them.

But other retouch brush tools like Sharpen and Desaturate also appear to be destructive though the Help does not mention this. Am I correct that if I want to do nondestructive editing with these tools I should first select the area to be retouched and then copy and paste to create a new layer for retouching?

How about a table in Help that breaks down how each tool can be used nondestructively?

Thanks.

2018-10-20 18:53:43

Hi David.

It's no secret that I'm a big fan of Pixelmator Pro and this is the only big gripe I have with it. Everything done by the Style, Adjust Colors, and Add Effects tools is non-destructive – which is awesome – but touch any pixel directly with any other tool and all Styles, Colour Adjustments, and Effects are immediately committed to the layer without warning – which really sucks.

I really wish that layers would lock, i.e. stop you from painting but still allow you to add adjustments, as soon as a non-destructive effect was applied. Unfortunately the way the layer lock works, it bars you from making adjustments too, so you can't even use the layer lock to stop you from making an unfortunate edit.

Hope this helps.

- Stef.

2018-10-22 11:48:53