Is something not working like it should? Let us know.
Simple test: create a new image (Cmd-N) and lock the layer. Duplicate the layer and lock that also. Try deleting either layer (Backspace) while they are locked. Either layer can be deleted, even while locked, although neither can be worked upon.
So will a Pro update require unlocking the layer before deletion?