Saving interim files - not?

Is something not working like it should? Let us know.

2020-02-03 20:30:20

I'm old school: "Save often, save again." I admit I've used Photoshop for most of my career and I am still learning Pixelmator Pro. Habitually, I save interim files of all my work so that, if a mistake happens, I can quickly go back to the right "level" and fix the mistake. I have been doing that in Pixelmator Pro, and I finish up by saving/exporting as a .jpg because most of my work ends up on the web. However, even though I consistently rename and save X-1.pxd, X-2.pxd, X-3.pxd, etc., as I work on a project, somehow the earlier files just disappear. For awhile I thought they were somehow being saved as part of the finished piece - that's what the Help section indicates - but, today, I discover: No. Gone. Nowhere on my machine do any of those early files exist and the finished .pxd file is only the last stage before export: flattened and resized (just the way I want it exported) but missing ALL the earlier steps. Why did I bother to save all the earlier steps? How can I guarantee that all the earlier steps ARE saved? I WANT all my work stages, not just the final one. Thank you for whatever insight the community can provide.

2020-02-04 07:18:10

Hi Sheryl.

File > Rename will just change the name of the existing file. You'll still just have the one file.
File > Duplicate will create a new copy that you can give a new name to.

Apple also provides some file version history using the Time Machine function but, if you want to take complete control of what changes are in what backup, I'd recommend using File > Duplicate.

Hope this helps.

- Stef.