Keeping the original photo

Talk about Pixelmator Pro, share tips & tricks, tutorials, and other resources.

2020-03-21 11:33:04

Hi, I am new to Pixelmator Pro and I am finding my way around. Great product so far, loving the repair function.

Is it possible to keep the original photo enacted and unedited, work on a copy or another version for example and save the edits to that copy. I have tried creating a copy in mac photos but when I edit the copied image it also edits the original / master version. I don't think exporting the photo helped me either.

Thanks

2020-03-23 10:46:53

Hi Becs, the steps you should use depend mostly on how you want to organize your workflow. So could you answer a few questions for me:

1. Where do you open images from? I.e. from a folder on your Mac, directly from the Photos app (using the Edit With feature), or from Photos using the File > New from Photos option?
2. Do you want the unedited version to be a separate image? Or would you like to have the ability to overwrite the original image but have the ability to revert to the original?

2020-03-23 13:51:53

Hi Andrius, thanks for getting back to me.

In response:-

1. I mainly open my images from the photos app on my mac by selecting the photo I want to edit and pressing command and enter (shortcut). There are times, but not often, I do open them from a folder (documents / finder).

2. I would like to overwrite the original image but have the ability please to revert to the original.

2020-03-23 14:06:27

OK, in that case, if you opened the image by pressing the Command-Enter keyboard shortcut, you can choose File > Save in Pixelmator Pro after you've finished editing. Then, in the Photos app, if you'd like to revert to the original image, you can choose Image > Revert to Original from the Image menu at the top of your screen.

You can also Control-click the image in the Photos app and choose Revert to Original.

Hope that helps!

2020-03-23 21:06:51